Filed Under:Health Insurance, Medicare

FAQ: Canceling Part B

An agent asks....

Q: Can someone currently enrolled in Part B cancel this coverage? If so, how is this done? What are the consequences of getting back on Part B later?

A: If a person is enrolled in Part B, and then wants to disenroll in Part B, they may do so by visiting their local Social Security office, or by going online to www.ssa.gov. If they maintain "other credible coverage," they may return to Part B during certain time periods without penalty.

Our Medicare expert is Mike Smith, president of The Brokerage Inc. He can be reached at mike@thebrokerageinc.com or 469-635-6703.

If you would like to be considered for our Medicare FAQ expert panel to answer frequently asked questions, email associate editor Heather Trese.

Do you have a Medicare question that you would like answered? Email us and let us know! Please put "Medicare FAQ" in the subject line.

Featured Video

Most Recent Videos

Behind the scenes with Vicki Gunvalson [VIDEO]

Provided by LIFEHEALTHPRO

In this exclusive interview, Vicki Gunvalson shares how she built a $15 million a year annuity business by planning for...

Regulator: Market may need to reinvent LTCI

Provided by LIFEHEALTHPRO

Cioppa says Maine's governor wants to spur the creation of better products.

Dementia: It's more than Alzheimer's

Provided by LIFEHEALTHPRO

An association calls for policymakers to remember lesser-known neurodegenerative conditions.

Protesters Disrupt WellPoint Annual Meeting

Provided by LIFEHEALTHPRO

Hecklers call for more disclosures of information about political contributions.

Related resources

More Resources

Comments

Power your business with up-to-the-minute insurance news, analysis, and best practices from LifeHealthPro Daily eNewsletter – FREE.

Power your business with LifeHealthPro Daily eNewsletter – FREE.

Enter a valid email address.
Close
Nichole Morford

Nichole Morford
Managing Editor

Thank you for subscribing to LifeHealthPro Daily!

Check Out More eNewsletters Now! Close

Advertisement. Closing in 15 seconds.